The Users interface can be utilized to create and modify users of STIP Manager. This interface can be accessed by selecting the Users option under the Administration icon ().
The interface is self-categorized into two sections: All Users and Edit User.
All Users
This section is made up of a table which provides a read-only listing of all users currently defined in STIP Manager. The information displayed for each user row are Last Name, First Name, Username, Office, and Email Address. There are some tools in this section:
| Tool | Description |
| Search Field | This textbox searches for users by last name. |
| Checkbox/Delete Selected Link | The checkbox beside each user row allows users to be deleted from the system. To delete a row, one or multiple checkboxes can be selected. Then, the "Delete Selected" link can be clicked. |
Edit User
This section allows the column information in the table to be edited for a selected user. When a table row is selected in the All Users section, this section will be filled with the chosen user's stored values. These fields will compose this section:
| Field | Description |
| Last Name | This is the last name of the user; required. |
| First Name | This is the first name of the user; required. |
| Username | This is the username of the user. This must match the user’s login information for the authentication type that the system is configured for. STIP Manager will match the current username against this field in the Users table to determine the functionality available to the user; required. |
| User Status | This is the status of the user, either "Active" or "Inactive." If a user has an Inactive status, then the user’s name will no longer be available from any user selection list, their permissions will be ignored by STIP Manager, and the user will be treated as a "guest" of the system. |
| Email Address | This is the user’s email address that will receive all system notifications. |
| Office | This is the office in which the user is located. |
| 4-Digit PIN | This is an encrypted (*) four-digit PIN for users with FHWA and/or FTA permissions. |
| Permissions Table/Link | The Permissions link is used to select certain privileges and capabilities for the user which will then be displayed on the Permissions table. |
A new user can also be added to the All Users table by selecting the "Add New Person" button in the bottom left corner of the Edit User section. When this button is selected, the fields in the section will be cleared, so the new user may be defined in these fields.
For any changes made to the system, the user can process them through two button options:
| Button Control | Description |
| Save Changes | This button saves all changes made to a user to the database. |
| Discard Changes | This button discards any changes made to the user and reverts the fields back to the previously saved values. |
Permissions
To assign permissions to a user, the current user can select a user row in the All Users table, then click the Permissions link in the "Edit User" section. This will open a pop-up where specific areas of functionality can be assigned.
The "Available" box shows the list of available permissions. The "Current" box shows the list of permissions currently assigned to the user. To add a new permission for the user, a permission can be selected in the "Available" box, then the "Add >" button can be clicked. To remove a permission from the user, the permission can be selected in the "Current" box, then the "< Remove" button can be clicked. Once the desired permissions are assigned to the user ("Current" box), the "Save" button can be selected to close the window and update the Permissions table with the new values.
If a user has no permissions assigned, they will have view-only access to the Projects, Budgets, and Actions modules. They will have all reporting capabilities but will not be able to view the System Administration menu or options.
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.